The Collins Case by Julie C. Gilbert

suspense-books-4

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Four Silver Stars

the-collins-caseThe Collins Case by Julie C. Gilbert

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

It’s unclear what a certain Dr. Collins has done that leads to his wife and children’s kidnapping. But Special Agent Julie Ann Davidson and her partner, Patrick Duncan, are out to find the abductees and to stem a sudden flood of Internet hacking in The Collins Case by author Julie C. Gilbert.

I was first introduced to this author’s writing with a novelette, The Quinn Case, in an anthology called Where the Light May Lead. It was much like watching an evening crime drama, which I do on occasion, and I was in that kind of mood when I picked up The Collins Case. I wasn’t far into my reading before I was like, “Wait, wh-what?” The story had me hooked early, and quite a bit happens in this quick read. It moves at a good pace without skimpy or rushed storytelling.

This first in a series of Heartfelt Cases isn’t a sappy heart tale but a heart and mind battle where life and death are the stakes. I found the book to be on the heavy side with its Gospel language, which can sometimes feel like a shift from story-mode into Gospel-tract-mode to me, and the stretch after the climax seems to go on a bit long, introducing minor characters’ backstories while simultaneously tying up the loose ends of the main plot.

But it’s quite a mix of heart and suspense that satisfied the reading mood I was in, and I’d definitely recommend it to other Christian suspense fans.

__________

Here’s my review of Book Two in the Heartfelt Cases series, The Kiverson Case.

the-kiverson-case  the-davidson-case

 

Share Your Thoughts

