The Long Journey to Jake Palmer by James L. Rubart

fiction-books-7

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

the-long-journey-to-jake-palmerThe Long Journey to Jake Palmer by James L. Rubart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

A brutal attack and a devastating divorce have left Jake struggling with his identity. When he hears the legend of a hidden place at Willow Lake where his life can be restored (or destroyed?), he can’t resist finding out if the legend is true in The Long Journey to Jake Palmer by author James L. Rubart.

Having read The Five Times I Met Myself by this author, I was expecting a story that would include an element of fantasy, and that’s what I got. (I wasn’t expecting a nod to Black Fedora, but I got that too, and it was fun!) Jake’s journey goes so far as to incorporate pieces of The Silver Chair from The Chronicles of Narnia, my favorite fantasy series. While this novel spends a good amount of time on Jake’s interaction with his friends on their lakeside vacation, I found myself wanting to get back to the legend of the lakeside corridor.

However, while I would’ve liked to feel that I was mainly learning along with Jake, it felt as if I spent most of the book waiting for him to catch up, to finally get past what seemed like the obvious surface of things. On the whole, I was a little surprised that the story didn’t surprise me much.

Still, the novel has an encouraging message of healing, along with its adventure into a realm where the possible and the impossible meet.

Share Your Thoughts

