It’s a Wonderful Life: I Met Zuzu Bailey!

books-by-karolyn-zuzu-grimes

Karolyn Grimes, actress and author

Karolyn Grimes, actress and author

That’s right! Zuzu, one of the daughters of George and Mary Bailey from my all-time favorite Christmas movie, It’s a Wonderful Life–classic, iconic, superb, and such a holiday staple.

Zuzu is actually actress and author Karolyn Grimes. I had the pleasure and honor of meeting her at this year’s Tacoma Holiday Food and Gift Festival in Washington. And I came away with two of Karolyn’s books!

I picked up Celebrating It’s a Wonderful Life: How the Movie’s Message of Hope Lives On, since, yes, I’m all about hope and inspiration in life. Karolyn was also super-kind to share a copy of her brand new children’s book, Zuzu’s Petals: A Dream of ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ with beautiful illustrations by author and illustrator Karen Deming.

An autograph from "Zuzu"!

An autograph from “Zuzu”!

And, yes, I’m still reeling over this, folks. Never in my life would I have imagined meeting someone from the film I’ve watched and enjoyed every year for as long as I can remember. In a sense, I’m still growing into the 1946 film as an adult, as its powerful message unfolds for me on new levels, the more times I watch it.

You can learn about Karolyn, her books, and more at her website, and also check out Karen Deming’s books and artwork here.

Now, then. I suppose I can consider this my unofficial and early kick off of Christmas this year. 😀 The official kick off will be next week, when I announce my annual Christmas Book Picks!

_______________

“Look, Daddy! Teacher says, every time a bell rings, an angel gets his wings.” ~Zuzu Bailey

Celebrating It's A Wonderful Life: How the Movie’s Message of Hope Lives On Zuzu's Petals, A Dream of 'It's a Wonderful Life'

Share Your Thoughts

