Long Way Gone by Charles Martin

fiction-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.

Five Gold Stars

long-way-goneLong Way Gone by Charles Martin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

So many thoughts I’m having.

It’s quite heavy and intricately woven, this contemporary prodigal son story: Long Way Gone by author Charles Martin.

I was in for a surprise when I received this book. While I’d seen the wooded path and the man in the distance on the book cover, I didn’t notice the most telling feature of the cover until I held the book in my hands: the path is a guitar.

This is certainly a tale where music is a living, breathing creation, and musical instruments are virtually people. The author gives illustrations of gifting that goes beyond talent, beyond what’s tangible, and fierce love (of different kinds) that does the same–that goes beyond.

I did have some minor issues with the plot development. I didn’t fully buy into how drastic the protagonist’s turn on his father is, perhaps because the severe change happens in a rather short amount of time, reading wise. And the story may have what I call “too many endings,” when it seems a climax or conclusion stretches a bit too long or keeps unfolding so much that the zenith or plateau it reaches begins to lose its effect.

But that’s of little matter here, considering all the areas of the soul the novel explores, and the powerful depiction of a love that is, again, so fierce that I had to set the book aside for a while and just breathe. I couldn’t even cry.

They may be what Wordsworth would call “Thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.” But, knowing myself, and being sure that my thoughts from this novel will stick with me, I may very well cry later.

 

4 thoughts on “Long Way Gone by Charles Martin

  1. Pingback: Favorite Covers 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

  2. Pingback: Favorite Reads 2016 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

