Getting to Yes by Allie Pleiter

romance-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Five Gold Stars

Getting to Yes by Allie Pleiter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Suzann knows Adam is the one. Adam knows Suzann is the one. Suzann knows this coming Valentine’s Day will be the perfect time for Adam to pop the question. And Adam knows…um, well. There may be some difficulty in Getting to Yes, a novelette by author Allie Pleiter.

I was pulled in immediately by the heroine’s smart and humorous style. Her avid desire for a marriage proposal seems to teeter a bit into an obsession, but, of course, given the length and purpose of this tale, there isn’t really time for Suzann to focus on other stuff, here. Besides, she’s so decidedly funny, you can’t help but to empathize with her.

Even for Christian Fiction, I thought the God-factor was spread on pretty thick. Not that I don’t want to see God in a romance, but I wouldn’t pick “Nearer, My God, to Thee” for wedding reception or honeymoon music, either. (And, no, that does not happen in the story!) Also, as Suzann narrates her tale in present tense, it seems that not all of her switches into past tense are intentional.

Still, this romantic little comedy makes a compelling case for love and commitment in a world where so many relationships go south. My e-reader wouldn’t stand for such a thing, but if I could slap this book with a resounding high-five, I would.

_________________

Getting to Yes is Book One in the Sweet City Hearts series.

  

 

Share Your Thoughts

