Puppy Dog Tales by Liwen Y. Ho

Romance Books 6 Nadine Keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Four Silver Stars

puppy-dog-talesPuppy Dog Tales by Liwen Y. Ho

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Just knowing Uncle Bruce had thought of him was enough. “I’ll take whatever I get.”
Melvin would live to regret those words.

Anesthesiologist Melvin Lai has anything but a soft spot for animals—including the cocker spaniel he just inherited and doesn’t want. But, surely that wouldn’t ruin all of his chances with the dog’s beautiful veterinarian, Vivian Chu, would it?

I’ll admit I needed a light, pick-me-up kind of read when I picked up Puppy Dog Tales by author Liwen Y. Ho, and this romantic comedy was just the ticket. I think I took a bit longer than I should have to stop and realize, “Oooooh, that Melvin,” since I ran into this guy before when I read another romance by this author, True to You. I was then thrilled to see “that” Melvin starring in his own story.

And a light, pick-me-up, humorous kind of story it is. Animal lovers should appreciate it that much more. The change in some of Melvin’s feelings seemed to be a little too much so quickly, but I found the read to be quite pleasant, and I laughed aloud along the way. Fellow fans of sweet romantic comedies should enjoy this as I did.

 

Share Your Thoughts

