Pemberton Manor: The Goodbye Girl by Becky Doughty

womens-fiction-books

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book, for which I’ve given an honest review, from the author.
_______________________

Five Gold Stars

51ofxpylyglThe Goodbye Girl: A Serial Novel – The Prequel by Becky Doughty

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Grace Winters is by no means petite. And perhaps when her fairly big foot accidentally steps on the toes of an apparently pompous August Jones in an antique elevator, he deserves it. But it just may be Grace’s luck (or something else?) when she, August, and a couple of Pemberton Manor residents get stuck in this elevator on Christmas Eve in Pemberton Manor: The Goodbye Girl by author Becky Doughty.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that, as a rule, I don’t do serialized novels. That is, I don’t do them until all the serials are published and I can just read the complete book. Reading a good story in pieces makes me feel teased and impatient.

But I’ll also be the first to admit, as I have before, that I’m up for reading any fiction with this author’s name on it, and The Goodbye Girl prequel was here and waiting. So I broke my own rule to read it and may have to return to the rule later, as I enjoyed this prequel so much that I’m already ready for the next Pemberton Manor installment.

I found this novella funny and distinctly touching, with such an understanding of human nature. And I love this Grace heroine, how compassionate, flawed, and grown she is. Yes, at a pivotal point in the story, I said to myself, “See, that’s what a heroine does when she’s not a self-centered little girl at heart. When she’s grown.” And the story closes–it doesn’t end on a cliffhanger or anything, but it certainly whet my appetite to meet more of the Manor’s misfits.

The fact that it’s also a wonderful Christmas story is a bonus. So although I could see myself reading it at any time of the year, I’m glad I read it this week.

_________________

After this prequel, you’ll want to read Episode One of Pemberton Manor, The Moon Mother.

Share Your Thoughts

