A Stranger on My Land by Sandra Merville Hart

war-books-3

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I won a complimentary copy of this book, for which I’ve given an honest review, in a publisher giveaway.

Four Silver Stars

a-stranger-on-my-landA Stranger on My Land by Sandra Merville Hart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Carrie has had enough of this war. She, her little brother, and her aunt have been living in a cave to protect the last of their possessions from both the U.S. and Confederate armies. Still, Carrie is determined to help Adam, the badly wounded Union soldier she finds and befriends. But doing so may pose a threat to her family in A Stranger on My Land by author Sandra Merville Hart.

I’d been aware of this book’s existence for some time but never dug for information on it, so when I received a copy, I was surprised to find it’s a novella. It turns out that this story is a good novella-sized fit. Even with its war theme, it’s rather easy reading that I enjoyed.

I did find the way a little bumpy in places, with sentences that seemed misworded. The relationship development feels a tad rushed or underdone, as does the story’s ending, which introduces a new character on, literally, the last page–way too late to care about him or to add the extra, powerful punch that was apparently intended.

But the story also has a nice level of tension and poignancy. When is your “enemy” not your enemy? If the things you pray for don’t happen, does that mean you’re bad at praying? I appreciate how the author touches on serious matters like these with simplicity and grace.

I’d recommend this novella to other fans of Christian historical fiction, and I’d be happy to read this author again.

 

Share Your Thoughts

