A Life to Live by Toni Shiloh

romance-books-2 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

a-life-to-liveA Life to Live by Toni Shiloh

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Mia is a world away from her hometown in Texas when she settles in for a month-long trip in Nottingham. Running into Caleb, the former boyfriend who once broke her heart, is the last thing she would’ve imagined happening. Their chance encounter in England could lead to either more heartbreak or healing in A Life to Live by author Toni Shiloh.

This is a lovely, romantic novella about forgiveness, working through grief, and giving and taking second chances.

The story feels a little simplistic, repetitive, and not quite believable at times. There are some minor, technical errors throughout the book, along with a good deal of head hopping, switching back and forth between Mia’s and Caleb’s points of view rather abruptly.

But I smiled along the way at key moments, especially on account of Mia’s wise and clever mother. Lots of fans of uncomplicated, faith-filled romance can enjoy this quick read.

4 thoughts on “A Life to Live by Toni Shiloh

    • Thank you, James! I unexpectedly had a little extra time, so I “snuck” this book in.

      And, yes, that’s what I mean by head hopping. Some regard “no head hopping” as a concrete writing rule, but I see it more as a matter of preference. For me, if a third person narrator is fairly deep into one character’s thoughts, feelings, or prayers, it can be jarring if the narrator switches to a different character’s thoughts, feelings, or prayers without a smooth or definite lead-in.

      I’ve heard that the only way to make the perspective transition clear or smooth is to add a physical scene/section break, with only one character’s perspective per scene/section, but I don’t think that’s necessarily true. I just don’t want to feel like I’m suddenly hopping from one character’s emotions to another’s, or going back and forth between their heads in the same scene. It can be hard sometimes to keep track of which character’s perspective I’m viewing a scene from, or what I’m supposed to be feeling in the moment, if the “feelings” are switching. 😀

      Can’t say I’ve never been guilty of a little head hopping in my own writing before, but I’m learning to recognize it more. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

