Summer’s List by Anita Higman

fiction-books-6 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers for an honest review.
___________________

summers-listSummer’s List by Anita Higman

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Summer has spent so many years of her life taking care of her family’s needs while her own dreams have drifted off. But her gravely ill grandmother wishes for Summer to recapture some of those dreams with an important To Do list. Completing the list may even take seeking the help of Martin, the childhood friend Summer lost but has never forgotten in Summer’s List, a novel by author Anita Higman.

I’ve quite enjoyed a couple of this author’s Middlebury stories. Although I’m known (at least to myself) to not always read the blurbs of books by authors I’ve enjoyed before, I did read the blurb for this novel, and I was intrigued by the idea of Summer’s quest.

Unfortunately, after the beginning, which I really liked, the story fell pretty flat for me. I was waiting for a kind of “ah-ha” moment, for one of the items on Summer’s list to really pop, to add a twist or an angle I wasn’t expecting, but it didn’t happen. The story develops in an “all of a sudden” kind of way at a number of points, much of it based on events from the past. But I found it difficult to care about those events. A lot of them aren’t foreshadowed or given a realistic build-up before they’re mentioned or remembered “all of a sudden.”

Also, although Martin is quirky and noble in some ways, I found him to be a rather weak hero, overall. And I wasn’t expecting so much of the novel not to be about Summer’s quest at all but to be about Martin and his rather bratty brothers. I couldn’t really get into their whole family drama when so much of it revolved around characters I found little reason to root for.

Still, while this book turned out not to be my favorite, I’m sure it won’t be the last that I read by this author.

Share Your Thoughts

