Seasons of the Heart by Janette Oke

fiction-books-2 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Five Gold Stars

seasons-of-the-heartSeasons of the Heart/Four Complete Novels in One Book by Janette Oke

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(4.5 rating for the whole four-book series)

When an orphaned boy is raised by his Aunt Lou, Gramps, Uncle Charlie, and Grandpa, the boy’s life is bound to be anything but typical.

I don’t read book blurbs when I don’t have to, and I had no intention of looking at any blurb or other beforehand to know what Seasons of the Heart was about. Janette Oke’s name and the fact that I’ve known for years that the series exists was enough.

I was in for three noteworthy surprises from the first novel.
1) The story is told in first-person, which, even considering her Canadian West series, isn’t the most common for Oke’s novels.
2) The protagonist is an adolescent boy, Joshua, which isn’t common for Oke’s novels.
3) Josh’s perspective (along with the well-intentioned but not-the-best-idea scheming of his grandpa and uncle) actually had me laughing  out loud, something I’m not used to doing with Oke’s novels. I mean, sure, I’ve enjoyed light moments she’s handled with a light hand before, but some of the stuff here is just downright hilarious.

I liked seeing the dynamics of the different kind of family Joshua has. Though the tone of the writing gradually changes through the series as Joshua grows, it’s well worth it to follow his story right on into his adulthood.

Simple novels of faith and love and learning through trials–and prairie life and the like–are what I count on this author for, and I’ve not been disappointed. There’s genius in telling uncomplicated but engaging stories that just get the job done.

_________________

Me and my oftentimes old-fashioned self. Yes, the Seasons of the Heart book covers have been updated over the years, but I’m partial to the cover images from the 80s, back when the books were first published.

seasons-of-the-heart-pics

Share Your Thoughts

