Hidden Figures (2016)

Film reviews are subjective. I tend to rate films not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Hidden Figures (2016) from Levantine Films, Chernin Entertainment, Fox 2000 Pictures
Rated PG. Drama, African American Actors/Issues, Biography/Historical

Description (from the film trailer): Hidden Figures is the incredible untold story of Katherine G. Johnson (Taraji P. Henson), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer), and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe)—brilliant African-American women working at NASA, who served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in history: the launch of astronaut John Glenn into orbit, a stunning achievement that restored the nation’s confidence, turned around the Space Race, and galvanized the world. The visionary trio crossed all gender and race lines to inspire generations to dream big.

My thoughts: This story was all the more enlightening for me, since I’ll admit that NASA and all matters of space aren’t exactly the highest matters on my radar. And when I think of “computers,” I (like most people these days, I expect) automatically think of “machines” as opposed to human beings who, well, compute. This may be the most interesting that computing and mathematics have ever been to me. Albeit I’ll be sticking with writing and leave the numbers up to the folks who work well with those. 🙂

This is a well-rounded film, maybe a tad corny in spots, but so well cast. It’s the little stuff that makes a movie great, otherwise the big stuff feels like schmaltz, doesn’t feel earned. This movie earns its big stuff.

I was cautious beforehand, since sometimes when a movie knows what it’s supposed to do, it tries too hard to get there. (Like the movie Belle, for instance.) But, no, Hidden Figures knows what it’s supposed to do and just does it.

Truly inspiring.

__________________

 

Share Your Thoughts

