Without Warning by Joel C. Rosenberg

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Tyndale House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Without Warning by Joel C. Rosenberg

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

The president of the United States, Harrison Taylor, is about to deliver the State of the Union address, all set to assure the American people that their greatest foreign threat is being squelched. New York Times national security correspondent J.B. Collins adamantly disagrees, beginning to fear that the president won’t take necessary action before it’s too late in Without Warning, a novel by author Joel C. Rosenberg.

Well. Even as riveted as I was to the J.B. Collins novel that precedes this one, The First Hostage, I don’t think a thriller has ever left me at such a level of shaken speechlessness when it finished. Not a thriller–not until now. And though I don’t altogether like having to snap out of speechlessness to come up with words for a book review, I can’t say I’d have it any other way, after being punched in the soul by this novel.

No, I’m not much of a political or doomsday kind of person, but this fiction lover appreciates being stretched by this type of reading. I’m not a big fan of sermons in novels or when a character seems to adopt some “church speak” at an unnatural speed, as I feel happens in this book. And I found J.B.’s thoughts to be redundant in places, as if he didn’t fully trust me to remember or understand the magnitude of what was happening.

But his story had me inhaling the pages in notably fewer sittings than I’d normally take for a novel of this length. And I’d highly recommend it to any other fans of ChristFic thrillers who can stand a solid punch in the soul.

Gee. Nothing like being punched in the soul by love.

______________________

Here’s my review of the preceding novel, The First Hostage.

 

4 thoughts on “Without Warning by Joel C. Rosenberg

  1. I noticed the same redundancy issue in his last book and wondered it it was at the suggestion of the editor. It didn’t take away the action or the message, though. We listen to this author’s books as we travel. The miles fly by.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

