The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

historical-books-2 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
________________________

Four Silver Stars

The Illusionist's ApprenticeThe Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Master illusionist Harry Houdini has passed, and people think his former apprentice, Wren Lockhart, must hold the key to Houdini’s well-kept secrets. However, Wren is harboring her own secrets concerning her past. When a public illusion by a rival performer goes horribly wrong, Wren gets caught up in a mystery that will threaten all that she hides, and her very life, in The Illusionist’s Apprentice, a novel by author Kristy Cambron.

The setting of the Jazz Age and the last legs of vaudeville, the intrigue, the tenseness of romance, and the waiting depths of emotion all pulled me to keep turning the pages, though not too fast. I wouldn’t necessarily call this story slow, but the pace is certainly measured and heavy. The read is quite somber, morbidly dark in places. And the mystery involves one kind of occurrence I sigh at in books: when a villain eventually just spills all the beans, explaining their grand scheme to their victims or opponents in a detailed speech or two, before it’s all over.

Still, I’m glad I was patient with this story. It’s ultimately redemptive, with some moving and beautiful aspects that I’ve come to expect from this author of one of my all-time favorite novels, The Butterfly and the Violin. I’m sure many other fans of historical fiction, especially ChristFic readers, will enjoy this intricately-woven tale.

Share Your Thoughts

