Remember Typhon by Kimberly A. Rogers

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.
_______________________

Remember Typhon by Kimberly A. Rogers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

The presence of communications expert Zenia (and her cat) on the Starstream aggravates Commander Gavril to no end. But when Zenia hears a distress call from the planet Typhon, Gavril has no choice but to take her along on the rescue mission. Gavril may—or may not—live to regret that fact in Remember Typhon, a short story by author Kimberly A. Rogers.

And here I am, branching into science fiction a tad.

That is, I’m not wholly unfamiliar with sci-fi. As a cinephile, I’m a fan of the original Planet of the Apes pentalogy (Escape from the Planet of the Apes is my favorite.) And I watched a good deal of Star Trek in past years (of which Star Trek: Deep Space Nine is my favorite, despite some Trekkie’s understandable opinion that DS9 isn’t as Star Trekkish as the other Star Treks.)

But as a bibliophile, I haven’t read much sci-fi at all, and I’d say this story gave me a good means to stretch my reading wings. I was sure that I wouldn’t quite grasp everything, but the story didn’t pile on so much unexplained, unfamiliar stuff as to lose me. The main thread of this short tale is complete, though it’s pretty clear that it’s a setup for more adventures to come. And I couldn’t help but to smile a little whenever Zenia would “thank Yisus.” (Heeheehee, I see you, Zenia.)

I’ll be on the lookout for whatever adventures this one is a setup for.

Share Your Thoughts

