Home by Ginny L. Yttrup

womens-fiction-books-3 nadine keels

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley for an honest review.
____________________

Five Gold Stars

Home GinnyHome by Ginny L. Yttrup

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

I didn’t know what I’d be in for when I met Melanie, a forty-nine-year-old, midlist author who emotionally checks out of life and her marriage, getting wrapped up in her fictional stories in Home, a novel by author Ginny L. Yttrup.

That is, I suspected I’d be in for something normal-but-fantastical like Stranger Than Fiction. So when I got into the novel and found it was pretty somber and wasn’t fantastical, I didn’t think I’d love it. I thought, “Oh, dear, so is this one of those melancholy stories where everybody’s giving each other sad smiles while they’re inwardly rehearsing all the ways their lives are unraveling or burning to ashes?”

Nothing against folks who do like melancholy novels, but I usually need comedy, thrilling twists, or something else more in contrast to balance it all out. Otherwise I feel like a book full of dry gloom is killing me softly.

But this novel, as it dug through dark, tough issues, softly gave me life, after while. Yes, I, a writer, tend to be partial to books and movies that get real about writers. But this novel gets real, period, in a way that isn’t sparkling but is still engaging. Well, I can’t say that I personally found the pages of Melanie’s manuscript the most interesting, since I wasn’t invested in her characters, but the manuscript’s effect on Melanie is so key.

This is a beautifully written story that gave me a “God is here” experience that I don’t get with all books. And, yes, I loved it.

Share Your Thoughts

