A Harvest of Thorns by Corban Addison

BookLook Bloggers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book, and I’ve given my honest opinion.
________________________

A Harvest of ThornsA Harvest of Thorns by Corban Addison

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

A large American corporation. A garment factory fire overseas. Labor rights. Globalization. I wanted to read this novel and get something meaningful and challenging out of it.

Instead, I rather felt like I’d been duped. Partly my fault, since I’ve run into this with a HarperCollins Christian Publishing book in the past, and I’d told myself I’d be more cautious about selecting books from them. (I believe it was a Zondervan book before, while this one is a Thomas Nelson.)

Call me old-fashioned, but when I reach for novels from a Christian publisher, I’m not looking for books that contain profanity. I’m just not. Sure, when I knowingly choose to read a secular book, I’ll deal with a certain amount of foul language or other content I prefer to avoid, if I find the story and message especially compelling and relevant–that’s my choice. But I personally don’t see the point of continuing to call yourself a Christian publisher if not all of the novels you’re publishing now are Christian Fiction.

Yes, yes, I know–different folks’ definitions and standards of Christian Fiction are different. The publishers have their business reasons and all. That’s fine. But in keeping with my standards as a longtime ChristFic reader, I’ll now be choosing Thomas Nelson and Zondervan books based on what I know or have researched about the authors, not based on the publishers’ names anymore–since, unfortunately, I can no longer trust what I’m getting from said publishers.

This is rare for me when I originally planned to review a book, but I got less than a quarter of the way through this one before I decided not to continue.

2 thoughts on “A Harvest of Thorns by Corban Addison

Share Your Thoughts

