Illusionary by Desiree Williams

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how โ€œperfectโ€ they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. I received a free copy of this book from the author for an honest review.
________________________

Illusionary by Desiree Williams

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

A tumble down the stairs lands Kamryn into a different world, the Land of Ur, where she meets a handsome storyteller who can bring stories to life. The storyteller takes Kamryn to the Oracle, who gives Kam a dangerous rescue mission to complete before she can get back home. But the mission proves to be much more than it appears to be in Illusionary, a novel by author Desiree Williams.

Awe. Some. Ness. I wasn’t ready.

I mean, the book starts out cute and funny (and Kam is a pretty funny heroine throughout, by the way.) Then the parallel world escapades begin. I’ll confess that it took me a while to catch up with the romance, as I didn’t enter as quickly or deeply into “the feelings” as the heroine and hero did. And my overall interest waned a tad through some of the traveling and in-between parts.

But the story would stop me in my tracks in places, sometimes with a single, spoken word. “Heal.” “Hope.”

“But hope…now that’s a mighty thing,” Kamryn says. You’ve got that right, sister! And before and after a crucial twist, this story presents an assortment of other wonderfully woven themes: growing up and innocence, grief and illness and regret, finding out who you really are and what you’re capable of. True bravery!

It’s a fantasy tale like The Chronicles of Narnia in that it’ll speak to you on multiple levels if you have the ears to hear itโ€”but whether you go to those other levels or not, it’s still a darn good adventure.

And I’ll have you all know, I had to push past imminent tears to even write this review. Good grief, Desiree Williams…

______________________

6 thoughts on “Illusionary by Desiree Williams

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour Kick-Off: Illusionary by Desiree Williams | HOPE through the Pages

  2. Pingback: Illusionary Blog Tour Wrap-Up | HOPE through the Pages

  3. Pingback: Illusionary Blog Tour | Desiree Williams Books

Share Your Thoughts

