That Gift! by Sheryl Fawcett

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

That Gift! by Sheryl Fawcett

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Some husbands have a knack for selecting perfect Christmas gifts for their wives. A certain husband in 1983 has no such knack, and his wife, though grateful, is rather disappointed in his holiday surprise for her. Thirty years later, he may have finally improved on that old gift—or he may have not—in That Gift!, a Christmas tale by author Sheryl Fawcett.

I often say that I’m not big on book blurbs, that I usually only skim them or skip them altogether before reading the book. In the case of this short story, I’m quite glad that I only skimmed the description’s first line or so and did not read the rest of it beforehand, particularly not the Goodreads one. I feel that it all but gives away the story’s “aha moment,” and I found it more enjoyable to discover the “aha” for myself, rather than have the blurb essentially hand it to me ahead of time.

But anywho, enough of that!

I got such a kick out of the title and cover, here: cute, fun, and catchy without being too silly, and it’s all very much on theme. The tale itself is the kind of delightful holiday goodness that’s right up my alley.

There was a minute or two when I felt like the story might be stalling, but those minor details do give a good sense of the husband and wife’s family life. In all, it was similar to reading another Christmas short I’m pretty fond of; I wish the story here hadn’t literally mentioned it, as doing so felt too “obvious,” but that’s likely nit-picky of me.

A quick, meaningful, and satisfying dose of holiday warmth, this is!

 

One thought on “That Gift! by Sheryl Fawcett

  1. Pingback: Christmas Book Picks 2017 | Prismatic Prospects

Share Your Thoughts

