Fault Lines by Thomas Locke

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Revell provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Fault Lines by Thomas Locke

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

“If you run from a lifetime chance just because the price is high, you’ll drown in shadows or cynicism or both. You grab hold with both hands. And you get ready for the fight of your life.”

Charlie Hazard, a security expert, has little idea what he may be in for when he joins a secret psychological project at the request of Dr. Gabriella Speciale. The project could have untold implications on human consciousness itself, but a conspiracy against the project could mean deadly consequences in Fault Lines, a novel by author Thomas Locke.

Before reading this book, it took me a while to figure out that it’s the entirety of the story that began in Double Edge, the prequel short to the Fault Lines techno-thriller series. I figure that Fault Lines, as a prequel novel, must read differently to those who’ve already read the series. In my case, the prequel has certainly whet my appetite for the next novel.

I won’t pretend that I totally followed what was going on from the get-go. I had to be patient, which wasn’t hard because I trust this author. (Davis Bunn, really—one of my longtime ChristFic faves, who’s got a batch of novels under his Locke pseudonym.) My patience was rewarded excellently with this well-woven storyline full of intrigue, danger, and a mix of human connection and disconnect. I can’t say that I got too attached to the core characters (well, maybe to one and a half of them), but the extent to which the story got my mental wheels turning makes up for that.

I’m looking forward to going further into this still-new-to-me techno-thriller realm.

__________________

Fault Lines (and its. well, introduction, Double Edge) is the prequel to the Fault Lines series.

  

 

Share Your Thoughts

