The Banana Split Affair by Cynthia Blair

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

The Banana Split Affair by Cynthia Blair

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Susan Pratt is shy, studious, and a plain dresser while her teenaged twin, Christine, is outgoing, trendy, and popular at school, especially with boys. Each sister believes her twin has the better life, so they decide to secretly switch identities for two weeks. Christine bets they can pull it off, Susan bets they can’t, and the stakes of this bet is a banana split in The Banana Split Affair, a novel by author Cynthia Blair.

I absolutely ate up this book back when I was a preteen–loved it enough to remember it into my adulthood and to want to read it again. I finally took another jaunt with this book more than twenty years later, and I still love it.

Sure, it’s corny, with all the italics and exclamation points you could ever want. It leans toward the simplistic and stating the obvious at times, and, yeah, there’s some super-fast falling in like-love in the story.

But it’s fun. And rather touching. Sooz and Chris not only get an eye-opening taste of what it’s really like to walk in each other’s shoes, but each girl learns more about herself in the process.

I didn’t realize back then that this is the first of thirteen books or so about the Pratt twins. (Nah, the copy I first read didn’t have a #1 printed on the front cover.) So now I may have to check out some other books in this series.

 

Share Your Thoughts

