Love at First Bark by Dana Mentink

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me.

Love at First Bark by Dana Mentink

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Having unexpectedly become a bestselling author, the pressure is on for Marcy to pump out her next romance novel. She takes off for a private writing retreat in a cabin—where a pesky little dog leads Marcy to meet Jackson, a handsome and bashful cowboy. In comes new inspiration, and Marcy may be on the brink of writing her best book yet in Love at First Bark by author Dana Mentink.

Full disclosure: feeling heavy after almost a week of darker reading than I usually go for, I was in need of something quick and light to perk me up. I wasn’t looking for any surprises when I picked up this novella, and indeed, my expectations stayed contentedly low as I strolled through it. So I was surprised when the story, well, pleasantly surprised me.

I pretty much fell in love with this tale as I went along. It’s sweet, light, and humorous, to be sure. But the crux of Marcy and Jackson’s conversation enters meaningful territory that isn’t the most predictable. Granted, the rather speedy heightening of the romance here left me a few paces behind, but the significance of Marcy’s personal journey made up for that, for me.

Well worth it for ChristFic romance fans to spend an hour or less with this enjoyable story.

__________

Love at First Bark is a part of the Love Unleashed series.

Sit, Stay, Love: A Novel for Dog Lovers (Love Unleashed #1) Fetching Sweetness (Love Unleashed, #2) Paws for Love (Love Unleashed, #3)

 

2 thoughts on “Love at First Bark by Dana Mentink

Share Your Thoughts

