Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan

Book reviews are subjective. I tend to rate books not according to how “perfect” they are, seem to be, or are said to be in general but rather to how perfect they are to me. Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review.

Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Click the title to find the book description/blurb.)

Kate has earned the position of lead counsel in a lawsuit against a pharmaceutical company. More than the chance to further her career as a lawyer, she wants justice for the people whose lives have been severely damaged by a dangerous drug on the market. But when a whistleblower from the company is murdered, Kate soon learns that she may also become a target in Deadly Proof, a novel by author Rachel Dylan.

I’m quite a fan of legal fiction, and it was the pharmaceutical aspect of the plot that most drove me to pick up this romantic suspense novel. While I think the characters tend to repeat or explain the obvious sometimes, the legal points of the story are laid out well. I most enjoyed watching Kate in her professional element.

Overall, however, the characters didn’t really “pop” for me. I found the romance and the spiritual side of the story to be rather trite, relying too much on clichéd phrases and situations without digging deeper. The naiveté of a couple of the characters didn’t feel realistic, especially for people near or past middle age. I saw most of the dangers and twists coming before they happened. Also, on a minor note, I felt like too many sentences, both in the narration and the dialogue, began with the word “And.” I’m actually fond of beginning sentences that way myself, but it can be easy to go a little overboard with it.

Still, I think other fans of ChristFic legal thrillers and romantic suspense may want to check this book out.

 

Share Your Thoughts

